*Spoiler alert! DO NOT read further if you are avoiding spoilers.*

I picked up Cirque American: Girl Over Paris a couple of weeks ago on Amazon for my Kindle. I just bought it on a whim after seeing it suggested by someone on my Twitter feed. With it being only a dollar for issues #1-#4, Girl Over Paris was a steal at the time. (Unfortunately, it’s no longer a dollar but I still encourage readers to give this series a shot.) Thank you whoever on Twitter shared this fun series.

Boy, am I glad I gave Girl Over Paris a chance to win me over. This YA read ended up being much more relatable to my own life than I expected even though it is a story about a young woman living life as a tightrope walker. Yeah, I know. How can anyone’s life be similar? But trust me, living life and dealing with it comes with the anxiety of living up to our own expectations. It is a fine line to walk.

Apparently, Girl Over Paris is not the first part of the series and as you read on you find out the protagonist, Jules, falls in an earlier story. Jules, her trapeze swinging boyfriend, Remy, and his sister Dita are flying off to a Cirque American performance in Paris. Besides walking in Paris, Jules is excited to be reunited with Remy. It becomes obvious she is dealing with the anxiety of her past fall, her fans, meeting up with Remy, and her performance on the tightrope.

girl-over-paris-jules-remy-dita

So, on top of her worries, Jules also believes she is seeing a ghost. At first, it’s hard to tell if this is just her imagination due to the stress. Even Remy doesn’t believe her when she describes the ghost she’s seen. This causes some stress in the relationship and Remy doesn’t really believe Jules at first. Then Remy goes missing.

girl-over-paris-ghost

Remy doesn’t come back to the hotel on a day Jules is about to perform. Remy is taken and tied up by the ghost. We find out the ghost can speak to Jules and Remy. He seems to be able to materialize at will as well. It is up to Jules, Dita, and Dita’s friends to rescue Remy from the ghost. The reader finds out the ghost also hounded another performer a long time ago and is part of an old ghost tale. The only thing is, this ghost tale happens to be real and is putting our characters in danger.

While performing one last time in Paris, Jules meets the ghost on the tightrope and with the help of Remy, confidently defeats him.

The storyline is pretty straight forward and simple but I think it’s a nice metaphor about defeating your own ghosts or demons in life whether that be anxiety caused by past experiences or even dealing with difficult people. I would recommend this to my sister to read and to share with her daughter, but it could definitely be read by anyone since everyone will have to walk a tightrope and defeat ghosts at some point in their lives. (Just hopefully not real ones!)

The thing I really loved about Girl Over Paris (which you could probably already guessed if you know me a tiny bit) is Jules. She is a strong female character and not the perfect does everything right strong female character either. She is strong and yet she still has to learn from her mistakes and doesn’t always have the answers, but she takes on her fears and barriers in her way and meets them where she’s at which builds confidence. Jules is a character everyone can learn from no matter what age.

The art is splendid throughout and I loved the expression of the characters. You can see the shyness of Jules with Remy and when Remy shows concern for Jules. I absolutely loved the costumes Jules wears for her tightrope performances. The hearts on her face and costume are cute and exactly what I’d expect for Cirque. The cover art focuses on Jules while balanced on a tightrope in her clothes with items you’d expect of any tourist in Paris. The background of the cover is of the Paris skyline with a beautifully colored sky. The cover is perfect for the novel.

girl-over-paris-jules-on-wire

Cirque American: Girl Over Paris is a story by Gwenda Bond, written by Kate Leth, and art by Ming Doyle. Girl Over Paris might not be something I usually read, but I’m glad I did. It is worth a read if you’ve ever been interested in the cirque, like ghost stories, or just want a fun read. Give it a chance and see what you think.

What do you think of American Cirque: Girl Over Paris? Is this something you might give a try? Can you recommend other works similar to Girl Over Paris? I liked it enough that I might give other issues a try in the future. Put your Geeky Talk in the comments below and let us know what you think.

