I was given the opportunity for some reflection recently.  The combination of a minor health issue and the following medical treatment has had me taking things at a slower pace.  What better excuse to catch up on some reading, right?  I picked up Hazziesof’s copy of “Faith & Fire.”  For her, it was her first foray into Warhammer 40k reading and I remember her strong recommendation that I should check it out as well.  I was not disappointed.

faith-fire

It was a pleasure to read about a perspective that ran somewhat parallel to, yet differed from the books on Space Marines or Imperial Guard.  The Sisters of Battle may not have the superhuman augmentation of the Adeptus Astartes or the overwhelming numbers of the Guard troops, but they make up for it with ferocity and fanaticism.

Reading the novel reminded me of the fun times I’ve had playing Dawn of War Soulstorm.

soulstorm_coverart

Which led to the thought process that brought me here.  Now is a really good time to get into the Warhammer 40k universe.

My first experiences with Warhammer 40k that were more than in passing were those with a coworker of mine in the 90s.  He would take almost every last cent of his paycheck after paying bills and load up on miniatures.  The biggest thing I took away from Warhammer 40k at the time was I had an interest, so long as I could use someone else’s materials.  There was no way I was going to fork over the cash assuming I could even accumulate it.

As time went on other media sources made the universe more approachable.  Having been an avid RTS gamer the release of Dawn of War was my entry point of serious fandom.  I played it solo, multiplayer, and sometimes with Guildies of Warhammer Age of Reckoning.  It was and still is a great game, with a number of expansions and mods that keep things interesting.  There was a serious departure from the Starcraft style gameplay with cover and suppression mechanics that really gave it a unique feel.  Dawn of War II continued on a similar line, but even further reduced the number of units going for almost a more RPG feel.  This game didn’t do as well critically, but I still had a lot of fun with it including playing competitively.

Fast forward to the present day and Dawn of War III is set for release next year.dawn-of-war-iii

It looks like they are trying to recapture the amazing feel of the original while retaining the lessons learned in the sequel.

What if RTS isn’t your weapon of choice?  No matter, a veritable Tyranid hive of choices awaits you.  From Battlefleet Gothic Armada to Space Hulk Deathwing there is something for everyone with an urge to purge.

battlefleet-gothic-armada

space-hulk-deathwing-small

Even if you don’t have much cash you can take advantage of one of the holiday sales and pick up one of the older titles for a reasonable price.

Don’t think I forgot about the tabletop fans.  The newly released Canoness Veridian will be sure to brighten up the days of any Adepta Sororitas.

canoness-veryidian
Canoness Veridian

 

All this and shelves of books.  So if you haven’t taken the opportunity to abandon all hope and embrace the grim dark future where there is only war, now is a great time.

 

sister-of-battle-horz

