x-blizzcon-2016

If players had any fears of running out of content in World of Warcraft, Ion Hazzikostas put them to rest at BlizzCon 2016. The plan for the game is a steady release of content into a life-like world in various sized patches we found out at the con. So what’s to come?

Patch 7.1.5

Patch 7.1.5 is set to release onto PTR soon after BlizzCon. This small patch will include Mists of Pandaria Timewalking. So, if you’re missing the dungeons from Mists of Pandaria players will be able to relive the older dungeons.

Did you forget about the Brawler’s Guild after it closed up shop? Brawler’s Guild will be back in full force after it is ready for another new season. The new season will include “Rumbles” which will bring players in the guilds into crazy raid battles, new currency, lots of shirts, and a basilisk mount. A nice small addition for us in the Brawler’s Guild.

You know I love my holidays in WoW. Just go read my adventures with Hazzie. Holidays are the best! Well, Blizzard is now giving us more holidays in the form of “Micro-holidays”. Some of these holidays sound like some fun for sure. My favorite example given during the panel is Ahn’Qiraj Remembrance Day. On January 22nd every year players can turn in scarabs for their faction and win the honor of having their banner flown for the whole year until the next Ahn’Qiraj Remembrance. Such a wonderful addition to the world to make it much more life-like. And yes I might just be a little biased since I adore participating in holidays when I can.

Blade’s Edge Arena update and class updates will come with Patch 7.1.5 as well. I am looking forward to the class updates with the increase in talent diversity. Sometimes players are locked into one talent because the other talents are just too weak, but Blizzard has plans to fix this issue. I believe it will also support their decision to focus on increasing utility for characters such as giving hunters their traps back. Sometimes stats such as haste, mastery, and crit have one main focus and the rest are just a side thought without much usefulness to a player. Blizzard wants to balance this out a little more. There will still be a focused stat, but the other stats will not be as unimportant.

Patch 7.1.5, although small, seems filled with a good amount of quality of life changes and updates to the game. It’s nice to see Blizzard is still interested in creating a more interesting and immersive world. It’s the little things that count and Blizzard proves they understand how important even small changes are to make the game more enjoyable for their community.

Patch 7.2 The Tomb of Sargeras

Patch 7.2 will be a large patch which will release after 7.1.5. The Tomb of Sargeras patch looks very promising. In Patch 7.2 you must build a base and plan an assault on the enemies as you return to the Broken Shore. Choose between the Nether Disruptor, Command Center, and Mage Tower in your fight.

My anticipated item for this patch isn’t the new raid or dungeon, but the return of invasions with Legion Assaults. Legion Assaults are inspired by the Legion pre-patch demon invasions we saw in August. I loved them, especially while leveling my mage. This time Broken Isles zones will be under attack and players will have to fight on the ground and in 3 person scenarios on flying Legion ships.

Speaking of flying, players will finally be able to take to the skies after finishing the achievement “Broken Isles Pathfinder, Part Two”. Additionally, players will receive class mounts, and yes they are pretty epic! This should satisfy my need for another mount easily.

Of course, this wouldn’t be an epic patch without the addition of a raid or a dungeon. The Tomb of Sargeras is a raid with 9 bosses players must defeat as they descend down and harness the Pillars of Creation.

Players will have the opportunity to experience the new dungeon, Cathedral of Eternal Night, as they fight four bosses and ascend The Tomb of Sargeras. As with all dungeons, heroic and mythic difficulty will be available.

Along with the addition of a new dungeon, dungeon updates in Patch 7.2 will help to keep older dungeons relevant as time marches on. Dungeons will be adjusted accordingly, along with loot and rewards. There will also be new keystone affixes and an update to Karazhan, dividing it into its upper and lower areas. This may prove helpful since it’s pretty large with 9 bosses to defeat.

If you needed more Artifact goodness, Blizzard has you covered with all new traits players will get a chance to unlock with a new campaign. The coolest part I’m hyped for is skilled solo play can mean a new appearance for your weapon. I solo a lot, so I’m actually looking forward to this update for my Artifact Weapon.

The last bit of information I’ve left untouched so far is about PVP, but I don’t PVP so I’m not as interested in the update. This might just bring me out to PVP though. I might give it a try just to check it out. Brawls with weekly event structures will be added to the game in Patch 7.2. Blizzard is planning lots of crazy PVP ideas that sound fun and different like “Packed House”. “Packed House” is 15 players vs 15 players in an arena, duking it out. I want to see those shenanigans! Oh, and my favorite one might be “Gravity Lapse” but I have no idea what it will entail. No gravity fighting with other players? Actually, I HAVE TO TRY THAT! I mean I did love that low gravity cave in Suramar on my Death Knight.

Blizzard obviously has a lot planned for us in the future. I am really excited and can’t wait to experience it. I appreciate the immersion this will create by making World of Warcraft more life-like by adding small details and still keeping the content focused on the fun for both serious and casual players. As Ion Hazzikotas said, “The content train marches on.” Though most trains roll, this one must have grown legs and maybe some wings because the next stop for those of us who love this game is Argus.

Are you ready for space travel? I know I am!

wow-legion-logo

