The Rubik’s Cube was invented in 1974 by a professor of architecture from Hungary by the name of Erno Rubik. These beautiful multi-colored turning and moving cubes were a dream come true for puzzle solvers everywhere. It was a magical combination of art in a puzzle, so magical it was initially marketed as the Magic Cube.

holly and dad rubik's cube 2 edit
My Dad and Me

The Magic Cube was later renamed Rubik’s Cube in 1980 by Ideal Toy Company and the fascinating cubed puzzle is now an iconic puzzle memory from many childhoods. I remember my Dad being fascinated with this cool little logic puzzle. I spent a lot of time observing him while he aligned the cubes to their matching colors. It was all very interesting to me as a child. This cube seemed to hold a key to the whole world and if one could solve it, the many other puzzles of the world could surely be solved.

When I solved my first Rubik’s Cube I didn’t linger on the sense of achievement for too long because there were so many puzzles and problems in the world needing to be solved. I quickly moved to jigsaw puzzles. Games, mystery books, anything with a puzzle was definitely for me!

The world is filled with puzzles, I learned from my Rubik’s Cube solving Trekkie Dad. The thirst for solving a puzzle followed me through many of my interests from the shows I enjoyed to the games I played. Most books and comics are a puzzle and the conclusion, while not always being the solution, left me with the same magic and curiosity to solve problems. Why would one ever watch a movie, read a book, or play a game if there was no challenge? The magic would be lost!

Now the Rubik’s Cube seems to be just a memory, but the puzzles are everywhere! From games to movies, especially Nordicmonkey’s strategy games, puzzles continue to surround my life. Puzzles continue to be a source of inspiration for me.

Just a few curious minds willing to rise to the challenge, and we could be looking at Star Trek without the price of a movie ticket. This might possibly be hopeful wishing but if I can solve the Rubik’s Cube, anything is possible!

Geeks and nerds all over love a good puzzle to solve and challenge to accept. It’s the foundation of geek! Right now I am puzzling over how to best play a Demon Hunter in World of Warcraft and how I am going to continue to spec my ranger in Pillars of Eternity. While these may not hold the same heft as a scientist’s discovery of life in space, it has definitely made me appreciate the time and effort which goes into such endeavors and given me some hope for the future.

Thanks to my Dad a cubed toy puzzle was my gateway to geekdom. What was your gateway to geekdom? Add your Geeky Talk below in the comments!

 

 

This piece was inspired by Karen Nerds Out, “Everybody has a Geek Story”. Check it out! Loved reading her story about her geek origins and ThinkGeek.

(Source: Rubik’s: The Home of Rubik’s Cube, “The History of the Rubik’s Cube”)

